You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 2, 2024.

Springtime seven years ago, the roadbed that had existed on the Bayonne Bridge was breached,  In a controlled manner, of course.  Steps in the transformation are captured here.  April 3, 2017 was the day this vessel, Maersk Kolkata, came through the opening that dismantling had just created.  Here were moments before that happened.

As I took the following photos yesterday, I realized I hardly ever

think about the previous shape of that bridge,

the new configuration has been seared into memory, what else would the Bayonne Bridge look like, I think.

After all,

bridges are forever, 

until we think about it.

All photos, any errors, WVD.

No, they’re not.

By the way, I wondered about the tanker name Arrebol.  It wasn’t familiar and didn’t sound appealing until I looked up the derivation.  Nice!

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,604 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

May 2024
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031