Substantial intrigued me not only because of the name, the A-frame, but also the day shape that could be seen although I think it was not being displayed.  A day shape with two black balls and a black diamond in between means “while working, restricted in ability to maneuver.”  Substantial  is a made-over yacht, now used as a day-ops survey vessel.

Suzanne McAllister has been at Bayonne for some time now for a make-over;  the name is not yet displayed.  Here’s how she looked 10 weeks ago.  

Any guesses what relatively smaller scale McAllister tugboat is off her port side?

I count at least seven workers in the photo of the substantial Suzanne below.  Given all that gray primer, I suspect the red paint will be opened up fairly soon.  Beyond and in green, that’s MV Don Pasquale.  I wonder how many millions of cars and trucks she’s transported in her lifetime!?!

It’s good to see a drill/test run of one of Marchi‘s rescue boats.

That name seems more suited to a starship?

The anchorage was busy the other day.

Any guesses on Alexia?

All photos, any errors, WVD.

My guess for the McAllister tugboat next to Suzanne is Ellen McAllister.  And Alexia, I believe, is a transAtlantic rowboat.