You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 12, 2016.

Call this one a triple whatzit, my series driven by the watch word “if you see something, say  (or post) something.

I’ll just put up the photos, and then say what I know or don’t know.

Below, I don’t know but think it’s

wz1

a lifeboat drill performed while Anthem of the Seas was in town the other day.

wz2

I know the vessel as the one that’s been studying

wz3

 

wz4

 

wz5

sharks around the world, most recently off Montauk and southern New England.  Here’s their site.  I don’t know if they are studying sharks in the sixth boro.

wz6

And this final one, I don’t know but  am wondering if this might be part of a future Marine One fleet, doing

wz6b

test landings the other day.  Here’s more on that.

wz7

All photos by Will Van Dorp, who always tries to keep his eyes wide open.

Over six years ago, I posted with a title this one mimics.  Richard Dixon is to the left, clearly USCG white, indicating its primary mission.  My question is what color is the larger vessel to the right?

ss1

Maybe you can guess more about this vessel below.  The photo comes from a secret salt from a small Caribbean port I will also leave nameless.

ss2

 

ss3

So the unidentified patrol vessel is the P-840 Holland, 355′ offshore patrol vessel for the Royal Netherlands Navy.   The design is intended to minimize radar visibility, but the color is also a blue gray said to camouflage it on the horizon better than gray.

Contrasting with that blue, check out the gray of LHD 7, USS Iwo Jima, which arrived in the sixth boro a few days ago in honor of Veterans Day.

ss4

Top three photos come thanks to Capt. Nemo.  The fourth was taken by Will Van Dorp.

For more gray, click here.

 

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930