You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 26, 2016.

Fire off the free foton fireworks!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For 3286 times before today I’ve posted since

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

November 26, 2006.  My very first post was here.  In the big scheme of things, 10 years is a short time, yet I have seen a fair amount of change in my beat–the sixth boro–in that time, particularly shore features, bridges, and some of the actual vessels afloat.  I certainly have learned a lot since 2006.

It does take some time every day, and I’ve thought to discontinue many times . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

but I continue.  Thank you all for reading, commenting, correcting my errors and typos, answering my questions, suggesting ideas, sending along photos, offering me jobs, giving me work, inviting me to stuff, indulging my made-up words, recognized me, alerting me of events to shoot, unlocking doors, sending me gifts, buying me elixirs, sharing company, entrusting me with secrets, keeping me off the partisan shoals on FB, and generally being friendly.  You all have kept me going, have convinced me all this needs to be documented, and therefore, I’ve put at least 25,000 photos into the public domain.

Digital cameras make this documentation easy and the internet lowers the cost.  So I hope you continue to read the blog, respond, send along photos, and more.  If the photo enlarges well and it fits, I’ll use it, crediting you by name or pseudonym.  (Cell phone photos do not often work, unfortunately.)  The boro is complex, perspectives infinite, and the “gallivants beyond”  just plain innumerable.

Will I keep it up for another 10 years?  Who knows whether anyone will be alive next year . . . although I hope we’ll be.

Again, I am humbled and thank you.

Here was post 1000.

Here are anniversary posts from select previous years:  2008     2010    2011   2012   2014   2015

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930