You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 28, 2016.

I blame my dear friend Christina Sun for this post.  Well, “blame” is the wrong word, but I’ll use it. She started it many years ago with this post on her blog, a project which I believe is “under re-powering and life extension,” to borrow someone else’s phrasing, and needs some encouragement, although she’ll blame me now for speaking that.

I’m impressed by murals, official and otherwise.  Mayor Steven Fulop in Jersey City  has promoted this public art in the city on the west side of the sixth bor.  Enjoy these.

gff1

I like the wave here, but even more, love that copper sheath on the cylindrical corner to the lower right.  It reminds me of a firecracker, or old-fashioned “rocket of the future.”

gff2

Near FIT in Manhattan, folks were painting

fit1

these as I passed.

gf1

Here are some on 9th Street in Brooklyn in the block directly south of the Gowanus Canal.

gf2

Back in Manhattan, here’s one seen from both ends on the west side of the Maritime Hotel, a once-maritime related building that was left as on the high tide mark when the port receded and left Manhattan.

clz

 

gf4

Upriver in Troy and under the Green Island Bridge, it’s Troybot, who in the third panel of four

gf5

appears to be saving a sinking passenger vessel.

tb

Also in Troy and under the Route 7 Bridge, someone summoned the spirits of some exotic sirens.

gf6

This is a unique form of tagging, drawing on the algae-covered walls of a lock chamber as it drains.

gf7

Oswego invites its high school students in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That Great Lakes city also has this mural about an event in another Great Lakes city that inspired this quite profound hymn.

os1

Here’s a mural visible from the Cuyahoga and under a bridge in Cleveland.

clv1

Ann Arbor’s Huron River has never known these faunas, but someone still imagined them.

aa1

But it was in Montreal this fall that I saw the best murals, as on this wall, with a variety of influences.

gf8

 

gf9

 

gf10

 

gf14

This one commemorates an actress from the Beijing opera. Click here for the back story and the artists.

gf11

Here are some in Beacon NY a few years ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this brings me back to Staten Island, and Lina Montoya’s projects, these over along the tin sheets screening off Caddell’s.

sigf1

 

sigf2

Philadelphia is where I first encountered the result of the city organizing a murals program. See some here.  I’ve heard about the Oakland project, but I’ve never been there.

All photos here by Will Van Dorp, whose point here is that he takes photos of other things while focusing boat to boat.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930