You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 6, 2016.

I’m surprised I’ve not heard this be called DUBQEG, “down under Brooklyn-Queens Expressway of Gowanus” a la DUMBO.

I was here last week waiting for … and when the twin bascules of the Hamilton Street Bridge, I thought it was someone else, but

ea2

I was equally pleased to see Sarah Ann–previously June K–arrive to exchange scrap scows,

ea3

exchanging the light 141 for the loaded 136.

ea4

 

ea5

Two things that really impressed me were (1. the intensity of multi-modal traffic at this location and

ea1

(2. the gentleness with which the Sarah Ann crew negotiated her 2700 hp in such confined space.

ea6

And yes that is a Coney Island bound F train approaching the Smith-Ninth Street Station, the highest subway stop in the system, one from which you can see the Statue.

ea7

Scrapping needs to happen somewhere in the city,

ea8

and it continues to be one aspect of marine commerce in Gowanus.

ea9

Bravo to the Sarah Ann crew for their impressive work.

ea10

All photos by Will Van Dorp.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930