You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 23, 2016.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the “whatzit” series as much as I do.  The photo below I took on October 22, 2016.  A minute or so earlier, I was thinking we were about to meet some traffic.  At this point I realized there were islands where I’d no recollection of seeing islands.  So what is it?

wz1

Here’s a similar “island,” photo taken on November 14, 2016.  In the Thousand Islands, such a small island with at least three trees would not have been out of place, but here . . .   ?

wz2

Until I saw this, and a few seconds later . . .

wz3

this.   By the way, these photos were taken not far north of Saugerties.

wz4

These camouflaged hunting platforms reminded me of some hunters we waked a few years back on Urger.  You can’t slow down if you don’t see the reason to.  Once we waked a few in a boat right along the bank–no photos because we didn’t see anything until we had passed by–we learned to “see” them and respond.

wz5

Here are a few we spotted in time.

wz6

 

wz7

We saw this guy, but he kept paddling madly as if to race us, all while keeping his face turned away.

wz9

All photos by Will Van Dorp, who reiterates his suggestion from yesterday here:

“If you are working Thursday and therefore having lunch and/or dinner at work–whether on a vessel or in some other work setting–and you choose to take a photo of the dinner–any aspect of the meal–and send it to me, please do and I’ll try to devise a post with it on Friday this week.  Thanks for the consideration.”

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930