You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 4, 2016.

I have many more Gmelin photos, but as an indication that I still inhabit the present-day sixth boro, I’ll show some sign of life for a few days.

For outatowners, Gowanus Creek (now Canal) is one of the most polluted waterways in the US, which is no secret to locals.  By the way, Gowanus rhymes with “you want us” with a silent “t.”

I took this photo this week just upstream of the 9th Street Bridge.  In fact, when a man swam down the Canal last year, he wore some serious hazmat protection, as the Media Boat shows here.

What I was not aware of is how much effort is going into addressing the accumulated pollution of more than a century.

gg1

This barge holds several excavators at work in the Fourth Street Turning Basin, one of the dead ends in the Canal.

gg2

As needed, the barge is moved by this small tug/pushboat that might be called 1337E.

gg3

Besides black goop that I might photograph next time, wood and other detritus is being plucked from the bottom.

gg4

Gowanus, there’s hope.  I’ll be back.

gg5

Click here and here for some posts I did when I last visited the Canal . . . in 2011 and 2013.

As to connections between the Gowanus area of Brooklyn and the Erie Canal, click here.  For a photo of the Gowanus Bay New York State Canal Freight Terminal, click here and scroll to p. 22.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,605 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930