You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 1, 2012.

Labor Day, my father used to say, was a time to labor.  We did, and lots of people do.  When I was out this morning from before moonset until 9 a.m., ample evidence of ongoing work presented itself, work that had started hours before I was able to get fotos.  I love the light at daybreak.  Here’s Freddie K Miller north of me and

northeast of me a few seconds later.

Here’s Margaret Moran before sunrise east of me as she returned  from assisting Saudi Hofuf into port, and

here’s Catherine Turecamo about a half hour later (exactly 07:33 . . . remember that) exiting the KVK west of me.

Here’s Atlantic Salvor towing dredge spoils out as Mary Alice returns with a scow, and here’s

the bigger picture as Salvor moves east of me.  Vessel in the distance is Titan.

Here’s looking north at Weddell Sea at moonset, and

looking southward at Rosemary Miller parading a pair of pickups around the same time.

Here are Gramma Lee T Moran, Siva Sincerity, and  . ..  again .  . . Catherine Turecamo arriving from the east.  Time is 08:51, almost an hour and a half later than the previous shot of Catherine.

And two more of the trio, mere

minutes later.

Here’s a mystery . . . I’d swear that was Taurus, but AIS says Taurus is in Louisiana.  Can anyone identify the Kirby tug here?

Happy Labor Day, and if you have to work, I hope you at least enjoy it, as I did as a kid.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,604 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

September 2012
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930