This series handles my miscellaneous needs with updates, follow-ups, and oddments.

Let’s start with the mage below.  Click on it and you’ll learn how soon a sixth boro GUP vessel transforms into dive attraction named Lady Luck.  Thanks to Mike Hatami for passing along this info.

ntwncrk

If the image below looks like a boat, it is, or it was before San Francisco grew (or tumbled?)  over top of it.  For more info on the buried vessels of SF, click on the image.  Here’s more.

sanfran

Below, well that was me about 10 years ago.  After I had built a skin-on-frame kayak, I need to paint the porous “skin” with urethane, hence the respirator.  If anyone’s interested in buying me a token of appreciation to update this vessel–which I still have–click on the image to see my one-item wish list.  And thanks in advance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More old business . . . the photo below I took from the Manhattan side of the East River about 10 years ago, and

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

this photo was taken by Robert Silva back in September 2014; of course this was what remained of the John B. Caddell after Hurricane Sandy, the suspense,  and the subsequent auction.

0aaaag9

By now, that old steel may have seen the hold of a scrapper like Atlantic Pearl . . . and been transformed in the heat

And finally, in response to a recent comment asking about Gateway tugs . . . the rest of the photos/text here I took/wrote in April 2014 and never posted because I was waiting for some additional info.

“What’s under the ‘white house’ here?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Click here to find out.   And the tug C. Angelo is resplendent in the brightening daylight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this is future defense works passing obsolete defense works.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

C. Angelo in drydock?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All photos except the top three and the one by Robert Silva . . .  by Will Van Dorp.