This post is similar to the Loose Ends 1 post I did about the strip of Jersey that faces Manhattan.

Know the place in the foto below?  It’s changing quickly.  I took this foto yesterday, August 27, 2013.  More on this pier later in this post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Know this place?  I took this foto July 4, 2012; Maurania III and P. O. Edward Byrne were there for the fireworks.      It’s had many lives and is about to change again.    Pier 57 was built around the time I was born after a fire destroyed its predecessor.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pier 56 . . .  as shown in this foto by Seth Tane in the early 1980s . . . is now habitat, as shown here.

0aaaap2

The top foto shows Cromwell Pier, a place I never visted.   Click here for a great set of memories showing folks who did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you used to frequent this section of Staten Island, get down there today if you want to see the last of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More piers soon.

Other than Seth’s, these fotos  .  . by Will Van Dorp.

Click here and here for other Weeks cranes at work.

For my favorite bowsprite pier post, click here for some eerie pics.