I’ve written a half dozen cargo posts, but what I saw today forces me to do another. See it up there? It’s visible already, but I hadn’t “seen” it when I took this foto. Look at the top row of containers forward and between the green and red . . .

MSC Alexa, Mediterranean bound although slightly behind schedule, with either a new variation on lifeboats or someone’s new speedtoy . . .

Or maybe it’s up there til the vessel reaches a test area in mid-Atantic, when the red toy will be lowered into the waves . . .

zoom zoom. It always makes me wonder what those other containers conceal. Maybe the supplies to get the offshore racer across on some sort of record run. Tell me if you can identify the brand.

Now if I wanted to buy a large Venetian gondola or Indonesian jukung or Egyptian aiyassa, do you suppose I could arrange for MSC to strap it atop a load like this so that I could document it coming under the Verazzano? Check out Puget Sound’s kayak on a cutter. Seen anything strange riding atop a container vessel?

Photos, WVD.