This was the tip-off photo:  in the right light, the raised-metal lettering is clear.  I received this photo from I.Y. last September, but never got more of the hull going abaft the US.

0aaaayg1

This one doesn’t show the lettering.

0aaaayg2

Nor does this.

0aaaayg3

So this past weekend, when I was in Greenport, I headed straight down to the water–aboard Glory, which I’ll talk more about tomorrow–and

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

bow of ex-YG-33 later J. R. Nelson

although the light didn’t bring out more detail, the captain did.  It turns out that YGs were garbage lighters, and this one had a memorable engine, although I don’t know if it’s rusty remains are still submerged.  This YG was turned into a fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

processing vessel that sank at the dock and became the focus of a lawsuit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks to Ingrid Young for putting me on this search and sending the top three photos.  The last three photos I took from launch Glory.