You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 26, 2024.

The last time I did a tagster post I commented on my collapsing of the terms tag, graffiti, and murals, and this post will continue to blur those words, I admit. 

I hope you enjoy it nonetheless. 

If you want more on illustrated buildings, click here for someone else’s thoughts on this topic.

The one below might be making false claims.  I wonder what claim the one above might be making.  Even more official looking history markers might mislead by detail or omission.

Advert?  A clever one though although the contents of the glass might be toxic–not intoxicating– to the koi.

Above are some from San Francisco and below, Maupin OR, two watery places that couldn’t be more different.  Without the water in the DesChutes River, there’d be no town Maupin.

This one from Alameda is just an advert, obviously a dated one given the charm of the image of aircraft an choice of itinerary.

This is an advert with a bit of silliness, as seen in Omaha.

Is there a point beyond eye candy–or bitter pill– here?  Eyeless … is that vandalism or a message?

I like this dynamism.

Mural?  I’ve seen variations on this on Roosevelt Island NYC.

Here’s new terrotory in the topic, from Mitchell SD.  Look close, 

see the material,

closer . . .

Yup, those are products of South Dakota farming.

If you can’t read the fine print below, click here and get some of the same points.

Other than eye candy, I prefer one that serve as reminders, like signs referring to speed limit, parking restrictions, or private do-not-trespass lines. 

Click here for context for these Lincolnesque lines.

All photos, any errors, WVD.

Maybe someone reading this post can comment on the oceans of ink being injected under people’s skin and how it might related to “murals.” 

In spite of this photo you see when you scroll here, I have no ink under the skin of my back or elsewhere; the pencil lead under the skin of my hand as a result of a 3rd grade accident does not count as a tattoo, at least not an intentional one. 

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,604 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Recent Comments

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930