You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 23, 2024.

Yes, I know this is the third truckster! post in a row, but I’m heading for the sixth boro albeit quite slowly.

I hope you’re enjoying these old trucks.  I’ve not identified this fire truck;  i shot the photo through the fence at the West Kern Oil Museum in Taft CA.  It was closed the day we passed through, and it’s not an easy place to get to. 

Let’s stick with a few more pics of fire trucks from decades ago.

 

I’m not sure what the reasoning for topless Mack fire trucks was.

Some old trucks have a patina; others a sheen, like this one right outside Port Hueneme CA.

A few of these I caught outside the Columbia Gorge Museum in Stevenson WA.  Inside exhibits were great as well.

Sometimes pairs or greater numbers just get left outside, like these in Oregon and 

these in California.

Mack ACs are how that company began, with their first headquarters in Brooklyn.  I’m not sure any trucks were ever built in Brooklyn.

White, named for founder Thomas A., is one of a long list of discontinued nameplates.

White at one time had owned Diamond T.

 

This circa 1957 White once pulled a log trailer.

And this half-track log skidder (?) reminds me of a number of tugboats, like YTBs, originally built for military purpose and later sold to the private commercial sector.  I’d love to know how many half tracks were 

All photos, any errors, WVD.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,604 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930