Here’s a seldom-seen tugboat.  Can you identify it?  What do you estimate the distance between the yellow stipes on the spuds?

Little C is a sixth boro tugboat, but I don’t see it often.  In a previous post, I represented that the tug was built in 1988, but I’m unable to confirm that now.

At first I thought the unit was headed into the space just north of Pier 66, but they 

spudded down here, 

allowing me to see close-up to the barge, CT511.  See the intervals between yellow stripes in 10′.  Judging from the markings on the spuds, I’d say the water there is roughly 40′.

Does that drilling unit shoot through an opening in that barge?

Maybe someone out there knows.

All photos, any errors, WVD.  More on Warren George Inc. can be found here.

Little C reminds me of Lil Rip, which was once based on the Rondout, although scroll through here and you’ll see her here on the KVK back almost 15 years ago.