It happened again . . . to steal a line [and modify it] from Tom and Ray Magliozzi: never mind if you don’t know what the Magliozzis said, but I postponed looking something up, and now I discover a convoluted story I’d love to hear more of.

On May 13 I saw this “new” vessel on the east side of Governors Island, and wondered how long it’d been there, why the logo blue stripes, the namesake, when it ran, etc. … but there were lots of other details I was following, so it slipped my focus.

On June 6 I saw this, and realized I’d never yet seen the two “new” ferries crisscrossing between Manhattan and Governors Island.  Coursen might finally be done.

Might the two blue racing stripes at one end of the double-ender be the new Governors Island logo?

That all brings me back to May 13, when I took this and thought this might be the new minimalist look of 2024 ferries.  Where was it built, I added to my list of questions to myself.

Googling the name–Mark G. Goode–led me, quite surprisingly, to TxDOT, and the Port Aransas, Texas.  When did this Texas ferry arrive in the sixth boro?  Was there fanfare at first arrival that this serial gallivanter missed? 

Will there be a logo change, a renaming as Governors II, a christening, and soon-to-arrive greener replacement?

All photos, any errors, these questions and more, WVD.

More on Governors Island here.