You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 3, 2020.

Back in December 2013 I did this post . . .  Recently I had a short time back in one of my old digs . . . Haverhill MA and stopped briefly to walk along the Merrimack River.

When I lived there 20 years ago, access to the water existed, but not like this arrangement.

But what really intrigued me was the repurposed USCG 40′ utility boat, my all-time favorite design.  See the whole evolution of the design here.

This one is very nicely restored and kept.

If I understand this right, the Slavit family offers free tours on this 1959 vessel.   But there are issues . . .

All photos, WVD, who was thrilled to see this restoration on the Merrimack, where I used to kayak and once had the good fortune to take a tour with the Merrimack’s legendary “Red” Slavit.  Red would explicitly say he new quite a bit about the river, and what he didn’t know he just made up, to be  more interesting.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,600 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

October 2020
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031