Of course, “last leg” does not mean that I’ve finished with photos to share. Nor does it suggest that I’m on my least or last leg or legs.   But as of about 24 hours ago, I’m off the boat, contract done, and looking for the next gig.  Any leads would be appreciated; Monday I’ll put my own spotlight out.

I believe the light above the guides us out is Maughers Beach Light;  that’s heavy-lift GPO Sapphire beyond the light.  Below,  dolphins and whales frolic, or they –more likely– just be pursuing prey and getting meals.

Closeup view here of pilot boat Spring Point, meeting us off Portland.

I’m guessing the spotlight scans the waters ahead for lobster buoys.

As we head into the inner harbor, we pass a number of lobster boats heading out.  Spring Point Ledge and Portland Head Lights line up.

The pilot boat heads in past the Bug Light, a diminutive but classy light.  Way in the distance is Lagarfoss, an Icelandic Eimskip-owned small vessel.

Another small lobster boat heads out.

And at our berth, it’s Timberwind and two McAllister tugboats, Nancy and Roderick.  I should have gotten more photos of Timberwind, since I just read she’s from 1931 and first served as a pilot boat.  I guess I need to return to Portland.

All photos, any errors, WVD, who’s back in the sixth boro.  I’ll recap more of LL5 in the next days.