You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 16, 2016.

Sometimes I have to ‘fess up:  I miss lots of stories in the sixth boro even though I might know of them.  And here’s another one:  I first noticed the tops of cranes on the south side of the Goethals Bridge a couple of years ago on the rare occasions I drove to work, but that old bridge–much as I admit to liking the name and the connections to both Brooklyn and Panama–has narrow lanes and used to have potholes that once cost me a tire and rim even though I saw myself steering into it.  I did that because with a truck beside me, there was nowhere to go.

Anyhow, thanks to Brian DeForest for this photo he sent me back in July 2014.  This section of the AK is not one I regularly see, although I know some of you see it regularly.

0aaaacr9

The rest of these photos all come from Thomas Steinruck, to whom I am grateful.  The new bridge is taking shape.

0aagb1

A new day dawns for commuters, and it can’t come too soon.

0aagb2

Happily, there’ll be a walkway over the bridge too.  All the above views look toward Staten Island, and

0aagb3

these show a bit of New Jersey too.

0aagbnj1

 

oaagbnj2

And here’s a panoramic shot, showing the new bridge, the old Goethals, and the AK Rail Bridge, with the gantry cranes of Howland Hook off to the right side.  I used to regularly get shots of the Howland Hook terminal and the AK Bridge from the other side, like here.

0aagbny3

Many thanks to Brian and Thomas for these photos.  Thomas took these last six since the beginning of 2016.

For my previous posts on bridges, click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,601 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Recent Comments

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

February 2016
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29