You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 3, 2024.

Almost a year ago I saw this Cape May workboat along the SW shoreline of Lake Michigan, over 500 miles by air from the East River.  Unfortunately, that day I saw it from a distance of at least five miles.  So when I figured I might try to catch it in the East River, I made my way to Roosevelt Island.

Here’s the evidence.

Originally a shrimp trawler launched in 1996, I could have called this post a “second lives” post.  I’d love to see how she was originally configured.

I like the two neon-blue slashes on the bow, imitative of the USCG orange/blue slash by none other than the prolific Raymond Loewy.  Remember this gCaptain article on that?

Unrelated:  it’s been the better part of a decade now that Rockefeller University building in background has been in place.

Good to see this Northstar vessel up close.  A few weeks ago I caught this Northstar flagship in the boro as well.

All photos, any errors, WVD.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,600 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Recent Comments

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

June 2024
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930