From a decade and a month ago, May 2014, I caught Gateway’s C. Angelo towing Sea Shuttle in through the Narrows . .  ..  See the post here.

 

Yesterday my friend Kenneth Bailey of Michigan Exposures taken caught these photos at Port Huron.  Gateway ceased its towing operations, and C. Angelo since 2020 has been Meredith Ashton of Ashton Marine.

As of this posting, she’s currently in Lake Erie heading for Port Colborne with a new barge–likely 

the one referred to here–is heading for the Saint Lawrence Seaway and 

on a long haul to Savannah.  I’m not sure how far Meredith Ashton will be doing the tow.  Wyatt M is working the stern.

Many thanks to Kenneth for sharing these and allowing me to report.  See his photos here.

First two photos and any errors, WVD.

Previous “second lives” can be seen here.  Of course, when Progress gets to Savannah, it’ll be the newest hull there for a while.

As to the barge, Fincantieri Bay previously delivered LNG barge Clean Canaveral.  I don’t know if anyone caught photos of that in the Great Lakes, although I’m sure someone did.  That shipyard has a long history, although it has sometimes changed names.