You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 25, 2023.

All I’ll say about this boat . . . as I witnessed the other day . . . is that it should be renamed “outa my way.”

Had I not heard a story in the harbor about a trans-oceanic rower that left the statue and got just beyond the Narrows when a fire broke out . . .

I’d not have understood what I photo’d the other day.  See the scorch marks above the rear compartment hatch?

And by summer’s end, I suspect the “Boblo boat building,” a landmark along the Detroit River, will be no more.  Here’s what was left in early June.  Later this year I should follow up this photo with a post showing it as I’ve seen it the past half decade.

And finally, speaking of Boblo boats and “gone,” Steamer Ste Clair experienced a fire in summer 2018.  I’d caught this photo just before the fire.

This was a month or so after the fire, which folks described as catastrophic.

You can imagine how surprised I was then to see it a few weeks ago still there, and it even appears to have re undergone some rebuilding and repainting.

All photos, any errors or opinions, WVD.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,603 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

June 2023
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930