You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 12, 2020.

Summertime and the living is easy, they say.  For some.  Enjoying an easy time on the water , that’s the life for some people.  . . .    Of course, rougher and tougher is better for people like Erik Aanderaa and adventures like this.      But on this enchanted late spring morning, a wave of yachts entered the harbor, here like  Second Wind, a Bayfield cutter ketch, and Tugnacious.

Tugnacious?  Remember I told you there were several boats by that name.  This Tugnacious appears to be an American Tug pilothouse trawler.

A Dutch yacht sailed in, judging by the flag.  It had a French name, I recall starting  with S, but I can’t remember it.

As crude VLCC (?) Atina left port–more photos of that later, Moonstruck, a Catalina 470, arrived.

I don’t know the manufacturer of all of these yachts, but I’d guess Pegasus, below, is a Fisher 37 pilothouse sloop.  I love the lines.

Jilleroo had such an unusual name for a US yacht that I looked it up, and I found the brand and sale price here.

All the gear on Autumn Borne led me to suspect she’s been sailing a while, and sure enough, if I read this right, she’s a Buffalo boat that’s been in salt water a while.

Done Diggin’ is a power cat from very near my old stomping  . .  . and  paddling grounds on the PowWow River.  They appear to be loopers who also keep a blog diary.

Ketch Bella Vita . . .  I’ve not found much, but it appears to be a sweet center-cockpit 45- to 50′ cruising boat with lots of room below.

And this . . .  I’m just speechless, for this 70′ to 85′ yacht to be roaring past a small fishing boat.  It’s no wonder their name is obscured.

All photos, WVD, who has his own unrequited summer boat lusts.. . .  for now.

Unrelated:  Remains of a very special PT boat were discovered in the Harlem River in recent days.  Thx to Justin Zizes for passing that tidbit along.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,600 other subscribers
If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments, photos? Email Tugster

Documentary "Graves of Arthur Kill" is on YouTube.

Recent Comments

Read my Iraq Hostage memoir online.

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American detained in Iraq Aug to Dec 1990.

Archives

June 2020
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930