You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 5, 2012.

My timing on the KVK–I imagined –would coincide with B. Franklin Reinauer, the tug I’d seen in  . . . December 2010 as just a few interlocked steel members,  heading that way westbound;  I was thrilled to be in the right location with respect to the channel and the setting sun.  But I was wrong. She anchored off Gowanus Bay and came out of the notch, headed for Erie Basin.

So I have to content myself for now with these . . .   B. Franklin at the 30.

And although she didn’t use the KVK as a runway to pose for my lens, the sun did cooperate and

turn her and

her barge to gold.

Fair winds.

All fotos by Will Van Dorp.

Oh . . . the shape of the future . . . like this?  Click on the foto for more info.

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

My Parrotlect Flickrstream

PC290099

PC290098

PC290097

P7070075

P7070073

P7070072

0aaaaff9

0aaaaff5

More Photos

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers