You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 20, 2009.

I made my way to the Kills looking for the wayward Ilya, and several times a surfacing cormorant startled me, but alas.  Except for knowing that the origin is Carib, I’d make a lame joke that Ilya should be called a woman-atee rather than a man-atee.  OK, I’m sure it’s been done.  Anyhow, instead, believe it or not, I spotted a motley group of tugs, ships, and boats.  I’ll start with the tugs, both ones I saw and others I remembered.

Bismarck Sea ex-John H. Malik (who was he?) and ex-Gulf Ruler, built 1976.  Notice the oval on the stack awaiting a K-Sea logo.

aabismk

Remember the color scheme?  It’s John H. Malik, foto taken winter 2007 in the sixth boro.  Malik was a “founding Roehrig employee who helped to guide and grow the company until he passed away in 2001.”

aajohnmalik

Here’s that Roehrig color scheme on Eileen M Roehrig, now North Sea, built 1982 and pictured a week and a half back here.

aaeileennorsea

Herbert P Brake . . . built 1992 of recycled steel by Bart Brake.  Anyone tell more about the evolution of this tug?

aart

Foto by Jed of Michigan Service, ex-Kevin Candies, 1981. I love those Gowanus Bay gravel piles in the distance.

aart1

Frederick E Bouchard, 1975.

aart3

Atlantic Coast, 2007!

aart4

Adriatic Sea, ex-Diplomat, 1978.

aart5

Linda Moran, 2009

aart6

All fotos but the two Roehrig boats taken in the past week.

Michigan Service by Jed;  all others by Tugster.  Some info thanks to Harold Tartell.

Besides the “first” last name van, Rip van Winkle and I share some history of profound enough unhappiness to consider disappearance;  I weathered the “storm” in plain sight whereas he went into these rocky banks of the Hudson River and stayed up here for 20 years, returning with some cockamamie story about being kidnapped or befuddled by outlandishly-dressed bowlers plying him with intoxicating drink, a tale I’d respond to with “Sure, Rip.  Ever consider rehab?”

Rip has clung to my back so long I decided to follow his path last weekend to see what he might have seen.  Here’s a vista looking southward toward Esopus and Crum Elbow, I think.  Yes, there’s snow in themthar Catskills, or Cats’ Hills.  You may have looked up at these peaks from the River or the Thruway;  here’s what the wayward Rip saw, what you’d see from up there.

aars1

Another overlook in roughly the same direction.

aars2

The speck in midstream is the lighthouse that appeared two weeks ago in foto 12 of the Flinterborg post here.

aars3

If you know the River between Saugerties and Catskill, you’ll know these silos  in Cementon.

aars4

Skeptical or not, I did see enough interesting features in the rocks to

aars5

tread with respect.  I even conversed with a few gnome-like rocks (rock-like gnomes??)  to

aars6

… or tried to.   No sure what language they spoke or whether they dealt with ol’ Rip.  No eye contact and nothing but silence . . . as if there were all out to sea or across the universe  themselves.

aars7

Rip must have seen these critters, right?

aars8

For me, it was a weekend reconnoitre.  I’ll head back.  One goal is to fotograf a ship or tow from one of the overlooks, soon.  Thanks to Joel for pointing the way.

All fotos this weekend by Will Van Dorp.

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

My Parrotlect Flickrstream

PC290099

PC290098

PC290097

P7070075

P7070073

P7070072

0aaaaff9

0aaaaff5

More Photos

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers