While researching this post, I stumbled upon a blog that seems to have ceased after a quite promising start.  Check out this Norrie Point pilot boat along the Hudson here.  Tom, I’d love to hear from you.  I believe the foto below (I took it a year ago in Tottenville) shows a Hudson River Pilot boat of the sort I’ve seen from a distance at Norrie Point.  Besides Ambrose,  many vessels do  Hudson River Pilots operate?  Is this the 1979 Gladding Hearn Ambrose?


Below is the a foto showing the closest I’ve ever come to Norrie Point, with pilot boat on station.  Is the building the Norrie Point Environmental Center?


Sandy Hook pilots recently acquired two Derecktor-built 53-foot pilot boats.


Coming or going or


holding station with a famous marine photograher (not me!)  on the foredeck,


I’m impressed by these vessels.

All fotos by Will Van Dorp.

Unrelated:  today is EVR Day.