Click here to see why John J. Harvey made this trip to Caddells.  These photos were taken around midday today, as the .org retired fireboat made its way to its home dock.  With new metal covered with absolutely brightest red, nothing but the most brilliant April sunlight would do.  Enjoy these photos!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trim is not yet finished but there’s some time before her first trip upriver to kick off the season.   Note the sternway wake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought I could jump in my land conveyance and beat them to one of my “offices” along the Kill, but I had to race . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

to catch them here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yup . . . pass the plate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a photo I took September 1, 2013 as Harvey knifed its way between fast-moving boats in last year’s tugboat race.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All photos by Will Van Dorp, who’s putting this Monday morning post up early.

 

