To call this the holy grail would be overstating it, but I hoped to spot one of these on this sojourn . . .an Ulstein X-bow, a fairly new direction in bow/hull design.  Here it is then, pretty exciting . .  . my first in the flesh, CBO Copacabana, launched from the yard in Niteroi in 2012.  I’m using this “crumb” at the outside waterline of Sugar Loaf to contrast CBO Copacabana‘s “nose” with other vessels I saw pass by yesterday, like

0aaaan1

A. H. Camogli, 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Far Sea, 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

this intriguing but unidentified (catamaran??) supply vessel,

0aaaan4

Brazilian Navy’s hydrographic research vessel BNS H38 Cruzeiro do Sul

0aaaan5

these two unidentified vessels shown together and

0aaaan6

separate

0aaaaaann1

(I can read Schlumberger on the side but can’t quite make out “offshore stimulation” vessel name.  The company started in Europe almost a century ago.)

0aaaaaann2

but I digress . .  this was about noses.  Three more:  UP Esmeralda, a traditional wooden fishing boat, and UOS  Liberty.

0aaaan7

0aaaan7b

I’ll conclude these fotos with another shot of that Ulstein bow . . . here juxtaposed with the intriguigly named Log-In Amazonia, a shipping line I’m having difficulty researching.

0aaaan8

All fotos yesterday by Will Van Dorp, who’d be happy to talk with any crew members from the US or other non-Brazilian nationals working on any sort of vessel in Brazil  . .  for a possible magazine article.  Please get in touch with the email address upper left.

