I offer these as fotos in search of a story . . .  midday yesterday it was Bruce A. McAllister who appeared first on the ConHook Range with an unmistakeable

Crowley boat.

It was Mars

I could then read.  But the story . . . I’m still confuzzled.

Might there be another sale of old boats in the offing?    Some dimensions on Mars:  1970 built at McDermott in the state of LA, 136′ x 37,’ 5750 hp.  How long ago did she traverse the Panama Canal?

As I pondered that, I noticed a follower . . . a McAllister tug I’ve not seen before . . . Michael J. McAllister, built at Halter in the state of LA as well in 1971, 109′ and 4100 hp . . .  with another

Crowley on the hip.

Pioneer . . . 127′ x 37′ and 7200, McDermott built in 1975, and formerly operating out of Jacksonville . . . I believe.    So I’m wondering, where did these tows begin and what happens next . . .

As to that other Pioneer . . . the one I was waiting for, here’s another foto.

If you wish to help the Museum get its landlegs back . . . click on the graphic below.

All fotos here by Will Van Dorp.   For a foto of Crowley Pathfinder I took a few years back near Seattle, click here . . .  8th foto down.

