An email from Harold yesterday prompts this post now, starting with this foto he sent me.  It’s Dong Fang Ocean.  Any associations?   A two-word clue is Bligh Reef.

Earlier Harold had sent me fotos of some tugboats operated by South Puerto Rico Towing, ones I missed entirely last week, ones like Mr. Frankie P (ex-El Condor Grande)

seen here again alongside Don Oscar P (ex-Miss Mackenzie and Sea Wolf).

Much newer (newest?) in the South PR Towing fleet is Hector P. I like the paint scheme.

McAllister also keeps some boats in PR, including one I’ve never seen, Brooklyn McAllister (ex-Brooks K. McAllister).  But I’ve got to return there if I want to see them.

Back to Dong Fang Ocean . . .  here’s the source and the identification.  We know it from its notoriety 22 years ago yesterday.   Thanks much, Harold, for catching some important things I miss.

I hope to get out on the sixth boro today  . . .  it seems like I’ve been away for ages.

