On trains, subways, ferries …  the past few years, I’ve seen them, the Girls  . . . .  Though intrigued, I resisted picking one up.

What I mean is the Larsson books:  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.   But on Thankgsgiving Day, I watched Yellow Bird‘s adaptations of the first two.  And now I’m hooked.

What links these books to this blog is a this series from horsesmouth, odocker, and frogmafrogma and frogma!!    and it’s a party I’ll join.

So,  what’s this . . . or who’s this?  Note three different ferries in the background.  The land there is Red Hook Brooklyn.

Here’s the first one . . .  the girl who … glides just forward of the tanker’s prop.   Clue:  the tug has a woman’s name.    Hazard a guess?

Same deal . . . the girl who shifts ships and heads east past the girl who used to be a distinctive orange?

The girl who sports a mighty wheelhouse . . .

The girl with the exhaust-tinted neck . . .

The boat whose name is impossible to read at this distance . . .

She who shifts is Miriam Moran, headed past Sarah Ann, who used to display the most distinctive paint in the sixth boro.

She of the mighty wheelhouse . . . Helen Parker.  I think this was the same hull, but I really can’t be certain.

She with the dirty neck . . . Erie Service . . . abridged to D’Erie Service?

Which brings us back to the girl who glides . . .  It’s Ellen, inching alongside

nudging in

closer and closer on  Chemtrans Sky.

As to the person cloaked in the face of the unidentified merchant mariner from the 1942 incentive poster . . .  I’m sworn to confidentiality . . . although the finger bling might offer a clue.  So, bowsprite . . . contact me and I’ll identify the mariner before he ships out . . .

All fotos by Will Van Dorp, who wonders what other Larsson parody titles you might deposit in the comment scow, with pix of course.

Unrelated:  Here’s an interesting merchant marine index.

