You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 24, 2009.

Almost two years ago I posted this.  Here’s a new installment.  Truth be told, though, a better title for this set of fotos would be head ornamentation.

Pioneer here shows a novel approach to jibboom installation:  grow one.  If this tree were alive and rooted somewhere in the chain locker, maybe in spring . . . you think?

Moshulu sports complex painted  scrollwork.

Most of Unicorn hid beneath blue tarp when I saw her in Gloucester, but the figurehead gave it all away.  What I did not realize at the time was that Unicorn began her life as a Dutch motor trawler.

Barkentine Gazela Primeiro began her life in Portugal and carried dory fishermen to the Grand Banks.

Lettie G. Howard has a modest eagle’s head and gilded sinuous incisions.

Flying Jib has even more modest and

functional incisions.

All fotos by Will Van Dorp, now in search of new head ornamentation.  Not for myself of course.

By the way, the Christmas morning activity that occupied me the last two years . . . it won’t be happening this year.  Merry Christmas anyhow, or –as my mother would say–prettige kerstfeest.

Which reminds me . . . if this were a warm holiday, I’d love to see a repeat of the muziekbootje, on their youtube here and in my fotos here.

Two figurehead posts from Rick at old salt blog:  an “indecent” figurehead story from Libya and a greeting.

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

My Parrotlect Flickrstream

PC290099

PC290098

PC290097

P7070075

P7070073

P7070072

0aaaaff9

0aaaaff5

More Photos

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers