You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 3, 2009.

First, I must proclaim my love of seeing process . .  especially with artistic creation, as was the case a spell back with bowsprite///tugster gallivant on the KVK as well as the graphic on this site: Cape Ann Painter, which I just added to my blogroll.  With graphic art, there’s the object of attention followed by a subjective rendering.  For those of us who do not sketch or paint, some rendering happens as well:  at least that’s how I understand my seeing “Ice Base” but imagining “Ice Babe.”    So I usually imagine that with a camera, one can eliminate the “rendering.”    It does maybe.  But how can I explain the foto below?  Double click for maximum detail.  It’a a Reinauer below, maybe Joanne III?  But seeing at this distance, image distorted by refraction, gains the illusion of artistic rendering, which

aads1

disappears when viewed close-up.  Which do I prefer?  Well, sometimes at least, I love

aadsx

stylization.  In none of these fotos did I use manipulation a la  Photoshop.  A Miller boat . . . maybe Catherine with a scow and a deck barge?  I like the shimmer resulting from distance.

aads3

Tens of thousands of tons of steel and product . . . transform into will-0-wisps that fall off beyond the edge of the world.

aads4

Some days . . . spare me the close-ups, the truth sessions.  Right now, give me the mystery, unanswered questions, unreturned communications and  . . . mirage.  An hour from now, I might like more certainty, clarity, evidence, a real touch, intense contact with all its compression and surface-ripping.  Even meetings on the stormy beach  with Lilitu I need sometime.

aads5

All the shimmery fotos taken of Ambrose Channel traffic by Will Van Dorp, yesterday.

Related:  in the foto directly above, the vessel on the left mystifies me . . . taken around noon yesterday.  Cruise ship “modified” by the shimmer or phantom from another age that, like a sea monster, only surfaces when NO ONE is looking.

Unrelated:  As of noonish today, Flinterborg–she who will return the barges–is northbound in vicinity of the Tappan Zee;  if you’re in Poughkeepsie on the bridge today, get a snap for me please.  ETA there . . . 1500hrsish?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 414 other followers

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

My job . . . Summer AND Fall 2014

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers