I’ve seen this odd upper wheelhouse and failed to identify the tug–obscured behind a barge– so many times I put the question it raises out of mind.  The question:  how come I never see tugs with such a “stalk” light?

aaaats5

But yesterday in Raritan Bay I had my chance to make an identification:  Bruce A. McAllister, house raised high.

aaaats2

But I also had this winter shot of Bruce A. , house retracted.

aaaats21

And Bruce A. yesterday, close-up of the stalk.

aaaats1

Now the same about Marjorie B?  Here she lies alongside gantry-craned bulker Sun Suma

aaaats3

and a close-up.

aaaats4

Which brings us back to this foto.  Is this Marjorie B?

aaaats5This blog is–in part– about seeing, and I’ve have many instances of my looking and looking but just not seeing.  Thanks to all who help me see, without which assistance I would be had.

aaaaaaaa

So .. . which other McAllister boats have the periscope house:  Justine?  Sisters?  Rowan?  Girls?

Insight and first and last fotos here thanks to Joel Milton.  All other fotos by Will Van Dorp.

