The sixth boro hosts the 16th annual tugboat race in less than a week. Don’t think there’ll be foreign boats, but I’m confident no fake (ok, digitally enhanced) fireworks show to kick it off. I saw a blimp in the sky this weekend that really should sell camera seats . . . hint hint. Meanwhile, not knowing who will be there driving what, I’ll post a lot of tugboat fotos this week. If you’ve spectacular or unsusual shots you’re willing to share, email me. A social pair starts us ut, Colleen McAllister and Dean Reinauer, eastbound together through Hell Gate.

F. Dawson, which I called a mystery tug some months ago, works on a Harlem River project this past week.

Lee T. Moran never ceases her shift work through the Kills, it seems.

Thanks to Bernie of Working Harbor Committee, here’s a shot of Swift, just east/north of Brooklyn Bridge.

I’d never seen this Pegasus before a few weeks ago.

And last but surely not least for now, this shot of the lofty Volunteer, sent along by Jed.

See you at the Races.

