The mystery boat floated, looking only slightly better than when I noticed it last summer listing to starboard on the bank of the KVK like some dead fish. It had seen better days, known love, inspired confidence. A blurred reflection of her former self, who is she? Where has she steamed?

Last weekend seeing her afloat encouraged me and gave me a lead: a name stamped into the starboard curve of the stern.

aath2.jpg

The name on the life ring confirmed it.

aath.jpg

Here’s a poor quality foto I took last summer.

aathn.jpg

So follow the string at this link to get her lengthy history: ex Jesse D, formerly the darling of an independent skipper named Hansen who recounts some of her exploits in this Baltimore newspaper story. I hope Athena survives, but if not, at least her stories should. And Kai Hansen, I’d love to meet him.

