You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 17, 2008.

With this blog I try to look and see new details each day anew. So I need to confess I’ve neglected barge names. The barge below–moving paper to the recycling plant is called Stars & Stripes. I thought that strange until it occurred to me that recycling reflects good citizenship, which is akin to patriotism.

anob.jpg

Sea Horse seems apt, although it makes me wonder if there’s ever been a Sea Mule.

anob4.jpg

I might have overlooked this body of water; I don’t know of it.

anob3.jpg

And I wonder what the story behind Peter R. Hearne is, given that most of its sister barges bear simply numbers.

anob2.jpg

Cleopatra had a barge. check out this Cleo figurehead here!! I wonder what name Cleo actually gave to her barge.

And while I’m on barges, can anyone describe the difference between a barge and a scow?

All images by Will Van Dorp.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 426 other followers

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

My job . . . Summer AND Fall 2014

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers