Can October already have arrived? Summer 07 chucked into the memory?

gxx.jpg

Surely autumn winds must be hurling this cute sloop. Anyone know the name of this vessel in Greenport last weekend?  And the four sails’ names?  jib, staysail, gaff-rigged main, and topsail?

me.jpg

Not a day younger than a century plus a year, the Mary E sails towards the east and soon headed west. Catch her as she heads through the west end of Long Island Sound.  By the way, what name goes with the forwardmost sail currently set here?

ggl.jpg

Other than that this schooner with tanbark sails goes by Gallant and has sailed out of Greenport for decades, I offer nothing.  I gather the color came originally from a bath used to preserve sail cloth?

kn.jpg

I caught a glimpse of Kalmar Nyckel, Delaware‘s tall ship, the other week as I crossed westward on the Verrazano. Thanks to Daniel for sharing this foto and to Fielding for helping me identify what I saw. It looked tiny as it motored toward Sandy Hook past an anchored tanker.  As to sail names here, guess I’ll just have to go to Delaware and take a tour.

