You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 3, 2007.

It’s cold in New York. I’ve got to stay “glued to my seat” to get my “homework” done. I’m wallowing in self-pity, me thinks. Sounds like time to digress a few minutes for a dose of “still more sail,” a shot of the best refreshment there is.

rrsail.jpg

Rosemary Ruth is always a good start, the fisherman nicely trimmed. Feeling better. So let’s look at Saphaedra. Is this sail configuration on a ketch also called wing-on-wing?

saphsail.jpg

I don’t know the name of the sloop below, but that’s the most soothing spinnaker to look at. It’s the Verrazano in the dim background.

spinsail.jpg

Below it’s Lettie G. Howard. Let’s zoom in two-thirds of the way up the mainmast.

crstlet2.jpg

Here’s that section of the mast a little closer up.

crstlet1.jpg

Whoever that is, I’m envious. The crosstrees offer the best vantage point on the harbor. Here is a I wrote a paragraph about riding the crosstrees last summer:

From sixty-five feet up, I no longer heard even the gentle sounds audible on deck: no conversation, no splash or spray. The mast seemed to dance forward, side-to-side, and up-and-down. The exaggeration of the pitch, yaw, and rock of the vessel was magical. From the first time, I saw the entire shadow of Pioneer, five of its sails flying, on the water. I was weightless and dancing with the steel mast above New York harbor, now almost an emerald green. The sails and flags were all below me. Above, only the sky. A gull glided past between me and the deck. I looked in all directions. After many hours on deck, I had discovered a whole new experience of sailing. Words cannot describe the bliss. Faintly I heard the captain call out, “Ready about” and the bow watch echo this call. Pioneer pivoted to port and the sails — from the jib to the main — shifted across the deck. “Ease the foresheet,” the captain called out some seconds later. The foresail reached outward to starboard, and Pioneer heeled lightly over. I stayed one with the masthead until I heard a new call, “Hey Will, get your arse down. You’ve got dock lines to ready.”

Only 45 days til the first day of spring, only 136 til the summer solstice. I’m feeling warmer now.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 402 other followers

If looking for specific "word" in archives, search here.
Questions, comments? Email Tugster

My job . . . Summer AND Fall 2014

Graves of Arthur Kill

Click to order your copy of Graves of Arthur Kill, by Gary Kane and Will Van Dorp. 3Fish Productions.

Seth Tane American Painting

My other blogs

My Babylonian Captivity

Reflections of an American hostage in Iraq, 20 years later.

Henry's Obsession

My imaginings and bowsprite's renderings of Henry Hudson's trip through the harbor 400 years ago.

Tale of Two Marlins

Blue Marlin spent 600+ hours loading tugs and barges in NYC Sixth Boro. Click on image for presentation made to NY Ship Lore and Model Club, July 25, 2011.

Archives

free web page hit counter
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers